Winter Wedding Planning

25 Jun

Or, why I don’t want a summer wedding. I love snow, and sweaters, and fireplaces, and winter.

I am not a warm-weather person. A day at the beach is more likely to give me 2nd-degree burns than any kind of a tan, my nose and upper lip break out in a fine sheen of perspiration when the temperature breaks 80 degrees. And when I’m hot and sweaty, you can bet I’m also a little grumpy.

These are just some of the reasons I’m looking forward to the prospect of a Winter Wedding! The sweets and I seem to be in agreement on this point — that sweet week between Christmas and New Year is our time.

heart in snow footprints

A Valentine in our back courtyard this winter.

We’re investigating venues now, and hoping that spaces and caterers and other people we need for the event will be happy to find a gig in the time between all the office and family holiday parties and the New Year’s Eve revelling. Fingers crossed!

Anyway, I think I’m going to LOVE what I get for Christmas this year.

Robot Love Christmas ornament

Yes, that's a robot Christmas ornament I gave to my Sweets.

I’d love to hear from any of you that are having or have had or have been a part of winter weddings. What’s the best thing about them? What should I not miss including?

One Response to “Winter Wedding Planning”

  1. esquaredstudios June 26, 2010 at 5:54 pm #

    I’m doing the same thing! Not only do you avoid summer heat, but you also saved dollars by thinking outside the wedding venue box. I’m aiming for 11/11 and most of my friends couldn’t be more relieved that it’s all guaranteed to be indoors, out of the sun. And my mom’s happy ’cause she adores fall. Hooray for anti-summer brides!!
    xoxo
    LemonBride (<–my name's under my main photo blog, sorry if that confused you!) 🙂 Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

