roses and rosemary

21 Aug

I tweeted earlier this week that I had read somewhere about a bouquet of white roses and rosemary, and idea that filled me with romantic longing, and I asked if anyone had any photos of such a bouquet. No one responded on twitter, but the internet has since surprised me with several beautiful images, and I’m totally in love.

Like this:

and this:

I found them both at frostyweddings, my go-to site for winter wedding inspiration, and she got them from the Natural Wedding Company. Photos all from Mark Tattersall. Gorgeous, huh?

What’s funny is that every image I found was from the UK. I guess the Brits like their herbs?

When I stop and think about why I like this combination, aside from the wintry, fragrant appeal, I remember the quote from Shakespeare:

“There’s rosemary; that’s for remembrance.
Pray, love, remember.”
~Ophelia, Hamlet

I think it actually has scientific, medicinal properties, too, for helping with memory. And it has been used in weddings as a symbol of love and memory for centuries, too.  I’ll be thinking about ways to incorporate this combination!

“If the day and night are such that you greet them with joy, and life emits a fragrance like flowers and sweet-scented herbs, is more elastic, more starry, more immortal, … That is your success. All nature is your congratulation.” — Henry David Thoreau    

Leave a Reply

