Back to school time

31 Aug
Not for me, of course. I’ve been working all summer, but it’s that time of year, and it makes me a little nostalgic. I love school supplies, that feeling of possibility and new experiences that comes with empty notebooks and fresh pencils. And I’ve seen a few wonderful things that remind me of back to school in the blog world this past week. First, there was: 
bouguet of pencils

A bouquet of newly sharpened pencils

 

by Cathe Holden of Just Something I Made  

It reminded me of that line in YOU’VE GOT MAIL, where Tom Hank’s character says to Meg Ryan’s character (in an email, of course), “Don’t you love New York in the fall? It makes me want to buy school supplies. I would send you a bouquet of newly sharpened pencils if I knew your name and address. On the other hand, this not knowing has its charms.”
 

And then I stumbled across this artist,  Dalton Ghetti, in a post at Urban Bride 

pencil sculpture

carved from a pencil. Really!

See more about him and more amazing photos at Kid Robot.  

 Anyway, I hope you all get to have that feeling of possibility that comes with freshly sharpened pencils this fall. I know I’ve got it coming with all the wedding planning that’s unfolding these days! 

2 Responses to “Back to school time”

  1. THE URBAN BRIDE August 31, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

    Thanks for the mention! So glad you liked the post. And, we love yours! It’s true, there is nothing like the glistening optimism of possibilities that Fall brings…. mmm and the freshly sharpened pencils. If only there were more of those in the world! xo.

  2. Coraline September 16, 2010 at 12:50 pm #

    I love You’ve got mail. Seeing the bouquet pic made me smile.

Leave a Reply

